What I’m into this week – an ancient science called alchemy

Several months ago, I decided I needed to venture out and take my wares on the road to see what happened. I have taken my other jewelry to craft shows many times, but something this unique called for a more “specialized” venue. So I shopped around a little and discovered kami-con, a large anime convention in a nearby town.
I did not, at this point, consider myself an anime fan. In fact, if asked, I would say that I did not like anime. However, I realized that the following conversation wouldn’t go over well at an anime con and shouldn’t happen anyways for a number of reasons:
“I’m not a big anime fan.”
“Really? Which ones have you seen?”
“Just Princess Monoke”
“And you didn’t like it?”
“No, actually, I really liked it.”…

So, I asked some friends of mine who are very big into anime to recommend some good anime that would familiarize me with the genre more. They all had a plethora of good recommendations but the one that all of them said I should watch was “Fullmetal Alchemist”. One of them suggested that the newer version “Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood” might be a better choice because it sticks to the books better. Being one of those fans who is often annoyed when movies do not stick to the books, even for minor details like whether or not a chatter character would have worn a hairclip by choice, I chose to go with that option.

I was not entirely sure what to expect, but all the previews of anime on TV left me thinking that what I was going to see was going to be cheesy, over the top and nothing like the artful, tragic story telling demonstrated by Miyazaki in Princess Mononoke. I am happy to report that the results are solidly in the middle. It is a little over the top, but overall, the artwork is good, and Full Metal Alchemist has an amazing, dark, intriguing story line. If this is what anime is, then I get why people love it so much. I will probably never be more of an anime geek than I am a general geek, but I can see the scenario where I sneak off into the living room to play a video game and then watch an episode or two of a good anime while hubby plays on his computer repeating itself for a while to come.

About luckandluster

I create beautiful dice and gaming related jewelry.
This entry was posted in what i'm into this week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

