Interview with Lex of Smarmy Clothes

Lex of Smarmy ClothingToday I am featuring an interview with Lex of Smarmy Clothing, an artist who makes amazing high quality geeky, costume-y, and overall fantastically unique clothing!  I would like to say a huge thank you to Lex for taking time out of her busy schedule to talk to me!

Whenever I see something so unique, the first question that comes to mind is “how did the artist arrive at this?” Sewing and creating clothing is amazing enough to me, but you create zombie dresses and batman corsets and beetlejuice themed hoodies. What was the progression that happened for you as a creator and artist that lead to the items we see on your etsy shop?

A lot of my items are made from repurposed t-shirts. I’ve been a thrift store fiend since high school, and part of the fun of thrift shopping for me has always been finding things that look fairly ordinary (or even damned ugly sometimes) and turning it into something cool.

I’m also obsessed with Halloween, so I think of a lot of my stuff as Halloween costumes you can wear year round.

With themes like “nightmare before christmas”, cyberpunk, mummies and the like, I think perhaps maybe you have some geeky tendencies. What are they? What are you favorite geeky things to do/watch/read/etc.?

I’ve always been a total nerd. I can remember being 8 years old and my friends would get mad at me because I wanted to stay inside and read instead of going outside to play. (Though I still had my fair share of Capture the Flag and mud pies.)Clockwork Orange Dress by Smarmy Clothing

I’ll read anything. Fantasy, mystery novels, classic lit. I love it all. My favorite books are House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende, the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin, and Case Histories by Kate Atkinson.

I’m really just an entertainment nerd all around. I watch WAY too much tv. My favorite shows right now are Breaking Bad, The Good Wife (terrible title, great show), and American Horror Story.

Every October, I watch horror movies all month long. Last year I watched all the Oscar movies, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to do it this year because some of them are a little on the overly sentimental/barfy side for my tastes.

Oh yeah, and food. I love eating it. I love making it. I love watching shows about it.

What would you say to other people with both creative and nerdy tendencies? Where should we start? Is there a book we should read? or a website? 😉

The internet is your crafty, nerdy oyster! Plus, it’s free! I started out reading tutorials online and experimenting with my sewing machine.
I even have some tutorials of my own here: whatthecraft.com/

What is your favorite thing you have ever made and why?

I always go back to my Streetwalkin’ Cheetah dress: Streetwalkin Cheetah Dress by Smarmy Clothingsmarmyclothes.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=87_26&products_…

It’s just an explosion of 80’s and neon and leopard print and tulle. It’s the kind of dress I imagined myself wearing to prom when I was 6. Sometimes I experiment with quiet neutral beige things, but that’s not really me. My favorite cartoon when I was a kid was Jem and the Holograms, and she’s become sort of my style icon, and I can totally see her in this dress.

Last but not least, Where can we find you and your awesome wearable art?

Shop: smarmyclothes.com
Etsy: smarmyclothes.etsy.com
Tutorials: whatthecraft.com
Twitter: twitter.com/smarmyclothes
Facebook: facebook.com/smarmyclothesdiy

About luckandluster

I create beautiful dice and gaming related jewelry.
This entry was posted in interviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

