Interview with Emily of EmmaDreamStar

Today, I am proud to bring you an interview with a talented Geeky Artist, Emily of EmmaDreamStar.  Her items are gorgeous and those of you who love video games, movies, anime and other geeky things will adore this interview.

First, tell us a little bit about how you got started into arts and crafts.World of Warcraft hearthstone keychain

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always had an interest in arts and crafts. As a young girl, my parents were very nurturing and supportive in regards to my artistic interests. They made sure I was never without a crayon or paintbrush so that I could create whatever would pop into my head at any given moment. As the years went on, I had a need to try new mediums, materials and methods! I couldn’t get enough of the creative process! My parents may not have realized it, but they pretty much created a paint and glitter covered monster.

You could make anything in the world about any subject… Why the art forms you have chosen and why the subjects of video games, anime, and the other unique subjects you have chosen?

I actually refer to a lot of my pieces as “wearable fan art.” It’s my way of paying homage to the creative works (movies, music, anime, video games) that have had a big impact on me. I think it’s important to show your appreciation/fandom and I like finding unique ways to do just that! Finding my niche making wearable fan art started in 2004, when I began making replicas of items from a favorite movie or making a pair of earrings with a photo of my favorite musician, just for fun. I would get so many compliments on how different my stuff was I figured that there must be others who would also enjoy wearing some fan art as well!

I am guessing from your choice of creative ideas that you might be a little geeky. Tell us more about your geeky tendencies.

A little geeky is probably an understatement and I’m totally proud of it. I’m currently in school studying Programming and I am building a Role-Playing video game in my spare time. Playing video games has to be among my top favorite recreational activities when I’m not crafting. Other than that, I enjoy: comic books, anime, manga Sci-Fi books and movies – if it’s considered geeky, chances are I’m a fan of it! I also really love to make costumes to dress up as my favorite characters (cosplay) at Comic Conventions as well.

For me, I find it’s the story that tends to draw me to things like “Fullmetal Alchemist.” Is that the case for you or is it something different?

We’re definitely on the same page there! FullMetal Alchemist is a prime example of a Fullmetal Alchemist Al Elric Blood Seal Earringstouching story, a truly beautiful work of art that means a lot to me. It is something that makes me feel incredibly happy and enriched after reading/watching it. It’s those good feelings that I draw a lot of inspiration from when creating my items!

What other shows, games, books, pieces of art, etc. have you found that have drawn you to them for similar reasons?

I find myself drawn to art works that focus on people’s struggle with identity or that ask the harder questions in life, especially if it’s approached in an artsy, surreal or dream-like manner. To name a few: Alice in Wonderland (books and the American McGee video games that were inspired by the books,) Labyrinth (movie,) Persona (video game series,) Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (movie,) and the musical works of David Bowie. A strange mix, I know, but they have all become a big part of who I am today.

Do you tend to be more comfortable creating based on what you’re drawn to and comfortable with, or do you ever try to push past your comfort zone or go against your initial instincts? If so, how do you do it and how does it work for you?

Though I do have a certain ‘crafting comfort zone’ that I can always fall back on, I am always looking to try my hand at something new. I’m a Gemini, I need the variety; otherwise I get bored very quickly! My approach to the creative process can vary, but when an idea for a new creation pops into my head I immediately start thinking of the best way to go about it while the inspiration is fresh. A lot of the process is then just trial and error until I’m satisfied with the product! And if I’m not sure how to do something, I will look to the artistic community for pointers and how-to videos. There are lots of great online resources and books that can help you expand on your artistic skill set.

What would you tell a geeky artist trying to find their “legs” so to speak?

hand painted Mario coin bankMy best advice would simply be: Do what makes you happy, no matter what anyone else thinks, even if your art seems strange or unusual to some. There is always an audience to match the art; it’s just a matter of finding/reaching it. And your finished artwork will come out all the better when you create with your whole heart involved in the process.

Last but not least, Where can we find you and your art?

You can view my work online by visiting:

 http://www.emmadreamstar.etsy.com

 http://www.emmadreamstar.shophandmade.com

I am also quite proud to say that my ambitious and amazing fiancé recently opened up a comic book shop in our neighborhood. So, select items from my body of work can also be viewed locally at:

Excalibur Comics

7402 20th Avenue

Brooklyn, NY 11204

If you’re in the neighborhood, stop in to check out the shop and chat with me about all things creative/geeky!

About luckandluster

I create beautiful dice and gaming related jewelry.
This entry was posted in interviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

