Interview with Jessica Maclean from Geeky and Cheeky

Today I am featuring an interview with the awesome and geeky Jessica Maclean from “Geeky and Cheeky”.  I would like to thank her for her patience and for taking the time to do the interview with me.

First, tell everyone what you create. Harry Potter Doll

I make felt dolls and puppets, most of them are inspired by things in the geek genre. TV shows, movies, video games, etc…

Was felt your first choice of artistic expression or have you dabbled in other arts?

I have actually done many different types of art. I have dabbled with wood and other fabrics. In the end felt and fleece have really been a great fit for me.

You could make anything in the world. Why dolls and specifically why dolls from series like harry potter and firefly?

I am a huge fan girl myself in the end. I make them because I love them. Firefly, Harry Potter, The Avengers. They occupy a very real spot in my brain and it’s nice to be able to have a way to pay homage to the characters I love.

If you could recommend one episode of one show (or a scene in a movie, video on youtube, etc.) to everyone as a “gateway to geekiness”, what would it be?Serenity Cast Dolls

This is such a great but difficult question to answer. I think Firefly is a great show to break people in with. It has some many great moments both humorous and serious and the characters are so well developed and unique. The episode called Shindig is a good one for people new to geekdom. It is lighthearted and fun.

What’s your favorite book ever and what about it draws you in?

Dragon Prince by Melanie Rawn. It has a very detailed and evolved world and the characters feel extremely real. It also has an interesting new system of magic that I found fascinating.

What would you say to other artists with similar interests who are trying to find their place in the world?Princess Daisy

Follow your passion. Eventually you will find what works for you.

Finally, where can we find you and your art?
You can find us on Etsy at www.etsy.com/shop/geekyandcheeky
Our website and blog at www.geekyandcheeky.com
And on Facebook at www.facebook.com/geekyandcheeky like us to get all the latest news on new items and contests!

About luckandluster

I create beautiful dice and gaming related jewelry.
This entry was posted in interviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

